chuckshissle

Splendid
Feb 2, 2006
Okay I have one question about my electricity bill. Is there any way to measure how much is a desktop computer cost to run? I have a 600watt computer that runs pretty much 12 hours a day 30 days a month. Is there a way to calculate how much money I would be paying every month with this computer? I'm not exactly a rich person as I am a student and have to work hard to pay my bills. Thanks in advance.

FLA94FD

Distinguished
Mar 16, 2006
You would have to know the how much is power is used by your system. You could estimate be doing some research. All in all it would be a lot of work.

Or you could check your meter and check it an hour later. Down the PC and wait another hour and check meter the again. Determine the difference and do the math.

G

If you can estimate how much power your computer uses it should be pretty straight forward.

Lets say your computer runs at 50% of peak power for for 12 hours a day. Thats 6 hours at 0.6 kW or 3.6 kW hours per day and 108 kW hours per month. If electricity is $.05 per kWH (kilo watt hour) your computer would cost $5.40 per month in electricity to power.

This is just a sample calculation. I have no idea how much electricity costs in your area or how much of your power supplies peak power you are utilizing. However, even if your PSU were going full out all day and night all month long it looks like the electricity cost would be under $25.00 per month!

Hope this helps.

G

I forgot the monitor and speakers! The $5.40 is just for the items powered by your psu.

Lets assume a 100 watt monitor on 12 hours per day and a 100 watt sound system running at 25% power for six hours per day. That would be 1.2 kWH per day for the monitor and 0.15 kWH per day for the sound system or an additional 1.35 kwh per day or and additional 40.5 kWH per month.

At $0.05 per kWh that would be an extra $2.03 per month to power your speakers and monitor.