How many case fans are enough?

Jackpine

Distinguished
Apr 25, 2006
I am wondering how many case fans I should use. I have a Cooler Master 5 CAC-T05 case that comes with an 80mm intake fan and a 120mm exhaust fan. So, other than the CPU, PSU, and graphics card fans, that is it. Is that enough?

I have two burners installed, as well as an 80GB boot drive and 2x250GB data drives (RAID 0 configured). If I need to install another fan, what size, where is it installed, and where does the power come from?

Pain

Distinguished
Jun 18, 2004
How many fans are enough? As many as it takes to cool the machine.

I would just see how the temps are with what you have now and go from there.

vulefu

Distinguished
Mar 7, 2006
More fans better.

Sometims they come with molex (4 pin) connector(that is white one that you plug in cdrom)

Sometimes they come with 3 pin connector like one you get on CPU fun then you connect it to the board(small one).

If it is a first case then you just connect him to the free molex connector.

In case two you have some connector on board(System fan etc.), but you can connect them on something of those(better option):
http://www.zalman.co.kr/eng/product/view.asp?idx=72&code=

The yellow and balck is 12V, black and red 5V.

I have that case and the two fans are more than enough for the 3700 / bfg6800gt / 2hdds / 2dvd and with the 120mm PS fan and CM hyper48 cooler it is extremely quiet and very cool - well the VGA heatsink is audible and borderline annoying.

If you needed more cooling, it would not be impossible to mod the side panel by adding an 80mm fan in the lower vent, and maybe removing the cpu funnel and putting an 80mm there as well.

Another spot would be the lower 5 1/4" bays, you can probably knock out the metal panels and fit a 120mm there as well to improve front/back airflow.