Sign in with
Your question

good overclockable motherboard for Socket 478 P4 2.4GHz

Last response: in Overclocking
April 28, 2006 1:01:15 AM

Hello Everyone! I'm new to Tom's Forumz. I've always been interested in computers; how they work and the inner workings of its components. So I'm gettin my hands "dirty" for the 1st time. I have an old P4 2.4GHz Socket 478 that I would like to overclock. I've read several guides on overclocking and pretty much know the basics. This is an old computer I have and not worried about frying the processor. I am very much interested in learning "how to overclock" this processor. This computer is 3 years old and I've lost its specs. All I remember is that it's a P4 2.4GHz w/a 533MHz FSB.

I know I need a motherboard that has good overclocking abilities. There are several that I've found on the web. Just not sure which ones have good abilities. For example:

1) Intel D865GVHZL Intel Socket 478 MicroATX Motherboard
2) Biostar P4M80M4 Via Socket 478 MicroATX Motherboard
3) Mach Speed Matrix P4M800 Via Socket 478 MicroATX Motherboard
4) MSI PM8M-V Via Socket 478 MicroATX Motherboard

These are just to name a few. Does anyone have suggestions?. Your replies are much appreciated!

Thanks...
April 28, 2006 1:47:10 AM

Well im using a P4B533-E from Asus I have my 2.4@3.4Ghz on air and the stock Intel cooler but CPU's and Mobo's are hard to say how well they will OC your milage may vary :)  Good luck with your OCing :) 
April 28, 2006 9:28:39 AM

that is all well and good but you may.....(may that is) have a hard time finding socket 478 motherboards these days....not sure but your choices could be limited
Related resources
April 28, 2006 11:14:17 AM

Hi There..my first post in here. I suggest Asus P4P800...good board. The
P4C800E is even better. I have both. I set up a Cel340D on the MachSpeed