bjackson

Distinguished
Apr 30, 2006
I've been an Oblivion addict for a few weeks now, and I've been playing it on my Apple Macbook Pro as it's the fatest computer I own, however, I'd like to upgrade my desktop, so that it can play it better, and have a few new techs in it.

It current has a Athlon 1800, 1.5gigs PC2100, and a Radeon 9600 (This was a sweet machine back in 2001! LOL). I have a nice coolermaster case, and my SATA drives/power supply/etc will be staying.

I only want to upgrade the mobo, videocard, and processor. I am hoping for 600 for all of it. I assume that my ram will not work in a new mobo. What I'd like to stress is not a short term goal, but that it will be upgradable as much as possible for the future. (I'll be with this mobo for 3-4 years probably).

sandmannight

Distinguished
Mar 22, 2006
Asrock mobo- about 70 bucks
amd athlon 3700- about 230 bucks
2 gigs of ram- about 140 bucks
7900gt- about 320 bucks

Although this does put you a bit over budget but this hardware is very nice

DDay629

Distinguished
Mar 27, 2006
What I want to ask, as a mac user, what kind of frame rates do you get and with what settings in oblivion using Boot Camp.

DDay

bjackson

Distinguished
Apr 30, 2006
On the Macbook pro (X1600 "over" clocked to 400/400, (apple underclocks it stock), with the 1.83, 1.5g of ram, and the 128 video card, I get around 40fps inside with bloom/HDR off, in 1280x960. It varies heavily by the content obviously. It's definatly playable, but I just want it to look nicer.

bjackson

Distinguished
Apr 30, 2006
Don't forget new mobo's take a 24 pin ATX connection and old PSU's run 20 pin connections. Crying or Very sad

That's very sad... My case (Coolermaster Cavalier) does not accept new power supplies (non standard size IIRC), and it's 20 pins.

Maybe I'll just give up on this idea and buy an xbox360..... :(

bjackson

Distinguished
Apr 30, 2006