April 30, 2006 4:04:33 PM

Heres my specs

Asus a8n32-sli
Amd 64 4400 x2 w/ zalman cnps 9500
2x1 gb corsair xms 3200
evga 7900gt
74gb wd raptor
pc power & cooling 510sli

Now what i did was I started messing around the overclocking capabilities that they give me access too. I apparently attempted a massive fsb overclock and now the computer monitor wont boot up. It was at default 205 mhz, and i had the option of between 200 and 400. So i raised it to 210. Then 225 and whenever i restarted the computer to save the settings, the monitor has never came back on. Now im a noob lol at this and looked everywhere for the answer and the only solution for others that i seen work was to reset the battery and reset the bios via cmos (also illustrated in the asus manual). I tried this numorous times and still no luck.

I also tried to put my brothers old video card which isnt pci x16 and his ram (256) in there. still no luck. I placed 1 of my sticks in his pc. the ram still works evidently and my GREEN light on my mother board has remained green so that means what? That my motherboard is still good? My processor is good? ANY HELP would be greatly appreciated. THANKS IN ADVANCE.

More about : monitor wont boot

April 30, 2006 4:42:24 PM

pull your battery on the mobo. Look in the manual for the right jumper to clear your bios. Then clear it. It will boot after that.
April 30, 2006 5:04:24 PM

I tried it 1 more time, just for your reply. Still no luck.

The asus manual says

1. turn off the computer and unplug the power cord.
2. Remove the onboard battery
3. Move the jumper cap from pins 1-2 (default) to pins 2-3. Keep the cap on pins 2-3 for about 5~10 seconds, then move the cap back to pins 1-2.
4.Reinstall the battery
5.Plug the power cord and turn ON the computer
6.Hold down the <del> key during the boot process and enter BIOS setup to re-enter data.

I have tried various procedures but am open for any suggestions at this point.