Sign in with
Your question

What liquid shoud we put into water coolers?

Last response: in Overclocking
May 1, 2006 1:59:25 AM

I undersand to raise the temperature of 1L of water(pure H20) it takes 1 kilojoule (lets say its energy expressed interms of heat).

However if we add impurities to water eg Salt (Sodium Chloride) etc it will now take more energy to rase the waters temperature!!!!

Wouldnt this be a good thing? Imagine 1L of cooolant in your water cooler now needs 100 kilojoules to raise its temp by 1 degree. This would allow the water in your water cooler to stay cool longer (correct me if im wrong)??

I work in a lab with pulse field gel electrophoresis. The buffers we use take 240wats over a 6 hr period and the buffer doesent raise in temperature by more than 5 degrees!

So who uses what liquids in thier water coolers?
May 1, 2006 2:03:23 AM

Ugh, i never heard about liquid coolers but normal water should work?
May 1, 2006 2:46:28 AM

Yea. Wow thats a great idea. Yea lets add salt to a liquid cooling system. While your at it chuck some salt in your car radiator aswell and see how that goes.
Related resources
May 1, 2006 3:00:56 AM

i've heard some of the best things to use are thing like anti-freeze or car coolant for the most extreme users, also have seen references to other products used for cars but i can't remember them right now...
May 1, 2006 3:02:45 AM

What it gonna do if we put vinegar?
May 1, 2006 5:01:10 AM

vinegar is used to clean up build up in yoru loops when you flush it every 6 months

the ideal fluid is indeed water. anything you add will hinder its thermal transfer properties.

if you have all metals with around the same electronegativity, then water and some algecide will work. if you have different ones (ie. copper and alu) use anti-corrosion factors.(they'll slow the corrosion down, but not prevent it)
a b K Overclocking
May 1, 2006 6:15:23 AM