sandmannight

Distinguished
Mar 22, 2006
Because I value everybodies opinion on this forum so much I want to ask How this rig I was going to build would fare on present and near future games.

AMD 3000-$111.00
G.Skill Extream-$164.00
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D-$122.99
XFX 7900gt-$299.99

You may ask why I am getting the 3000. I am because I am new to OC and I am going to OC this and if something goes wrong dont want to ruin something expensive plus I will be upgrading to socket AM2 or maybe conroe next year after newer stuff is out and technology is refined so I thought the 3000+ would do me fine. I might also next summer get a opteron 165-180 instead of upgrading to AM2 or Conroe. Depends on how good that Technology is
Thanks in advance

sandmannight

Distinguished
Mar 22, 2006
I guess this might help somewhat. But I mostly play MMO's and RPG's. I rarely play a FPS. I play some RTS too like Age of Empires and Civ 3

linux_0

Splendid
That setup will have no trouble running those games. I can't really tell about future games, since I can't tell the future. ( :cry: )

I'm thinking this year's games will run fine, but I can't tell about next year's games.

Indeed :-D

But if you can wait 3 weeks for AM2 to push prices lower then by all means wait.

sandmannight

Distinguished
Mar 22, 2006
That setup will have no trouble running those games. I can't really tell about future games, since I can't tell the future. ( :cry: )

I'm thinking this year's games will run fine, but I can't tell about next year's games.

But if you can wait 3 weeks for AM2 to push prices lower then by all means wait.

AM2 is coming out in 3 weeks?

I wont be getting this til summer. Then next summer upgrade again

linux_0

Splendid

AM2 is coming out in 3 weeks?

I wont be getting this til summer. Then next summer upgrade again

Indeed, AM2 is being released May 23rd 2006 ( in about 3 weeks ).

sandmannight

Distinguished
Mar 22, 2006