To SLI or not to SLI?

nist777

Distinguished
May 2, 2006
Being a college student, my funds are quite limited (~$1000). At first I was looking into a definite SLI-build but realized that two GPUs would almost set me back half of my fund. Of course, my goal is a gaming system.

So I have three options (from least to most expensive):

A - Build a non-SLI, non-SLI upgradeable system.
Cheapest, standard budget gaming system. Not neccessarily "worse" than SLI systems.

B - Build a non-SLI, SLI-upgradeable system.
My preferred option so far. I am able to build an SLI-capable base (certified mobo, single gpu for now, etc.) with the money i have now and leave room for upgrade to SLI at a later, more suitable time.

C - Build a SLI system.
Most expensive, would need to accumulate more cash later. Upgrades would be expensive as both GPUs as well as RAM and CPU would preferably need to be replaced/added.

The fundamental question is this:

Is it too early to switch over to dual GPU processing (SLI/Crossfire) when taking into account price versus significant and noticeable performance gain?

the "B" option is probably the best bet. something like this...

COOLER MASTER Centurion 5 CAC-T05-UB Black /Blue $61 shipped
Antec TRUEPOWERII TPII-480 480W *SLI approved* $77 shipped
AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ $296 shipped
ABIT KN8 SLI $106 shipped
G.SKILL Extreme Series 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR 500 (PC 4000) $168 shipped (*** killer deal ***)
BenQ Black 16X DVD+R 8X DVD-R...2M Cache with LightScribe - OEM $39 shipped
WD2500KS 250GB 7200 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s - OEM $95 shipped
$839 sub-total

EVGA e-Geforce 7900 GT 256MB $295 shipped
$1134 total

Would not be a bad system at all. Of course, if you have parts to recycle it would be a bit easier on the wallet...

For the bonus question: no, SLI is not exactly a good price/performance point since Moore's law will always force a next generation GPU at a comparable price point to an SLI upgrade in a relatively short amount of time.

shadowduck