Dual motherboard for 2 chips??? AMD, Intel...which way?

bojangles

Distinguished
Jan 15, 2005
Hello everyone, and sorry if this be a retarded topic...but I'm very much a simpleton when it comes to this stuff. So hopefully someone can help?

I am looking to upgrade my computer, and I am a concept designer/illustrator who uses photoshop for digital painting, and also plays games.

Now this is the million dolla question...

I was instructed that to get the best performance [professional performance] from photoshop I should look at a dual slot motherboard with 2 dual core processors...also a hardrive for my operating system and software, and a smaller seperate hard-drive for photoshops scratch disk [it's thinking/brain].

So, I am willing to do this...or at least get one chip and then buy another later on...but is this a big deal in terms of the learning curve. I have a friend who is an IT technician and he won't even discuss this with me in fear of suggesting the wrong stuff!

Anyway, what I found out is this...and please help me out here...

There aren't [can't find any] AMD motherboards for dual processors [2 processors i should say], but there are intel...however they all seem to be socket 604 [and use the intel Xeon chip]. I found one for about £200 [supermicro x6dvl-xg2 dual xeon nocona intel e7320].

So is the XEON better/worse than a dual-core processor?

Or should I wait for AMD to bring some out and go for 2 amd 64 x2 chips on a motherboard with a couple of gig of ram?

Again...I am new to this topic, and really need some advice. So I guess what i need to know is what things to look for in terms of dual motherboards...and if there are those boards for amd dual-processors, or intel dual-processors....or is the Xeon combination a good combination in itself?

£700 on all this is a lot to spend!!

Thanks for any help you can give.

M