water cooler radiator in a mini fridge....would it work??

Status
Not open for further replies.

regchamp

Distinguished
Apr 4, 2006
Here's my question, lets say I had an old (small) mini fridge that still works well. Could I take my thermaltake bigwater radiator, mount it to the wall of the inside of the mini fridge, then drill holes in the side only big enough for the tubing to come out and run it to my cpu block? The fridge itself would not be loud, I could keep it possibly under my desk or even off to the side, and hypothetically it would keep the radiator cool. Would condensation on the radiator be a problem? or are they all stainless steel? Again, I only want the RADIATOR in the fridge, nothing else, with the tubing running out the sides through drilled holes, and I could plug the outside of the holes w/ putty or glue or something. just an idea.

TONY_M07

Distinguished
Apr 24, 2006
Im by no means an expert in watercooling, but you may find it more practical to put the resevoir in there instead.

My reason for this is the heat from the radiator would be quite substantial and since the fridge has no where to exhaust, it would have to constantly be on in order to keep the hot air from building. I don't think it would be too long before your fridge kicked out.

Again im only hypothesizing here.

rodney_ws

Splendid
Dec 29, 2005
I'm not sure if that'd work or not... isn't there a chance water would form on the radiator? Instead of risking your radiator, why not put something like a battery powered mini-fan in your refridgerator to see if it survives first. Let us know how that turns out!

I've had similar thoughts though... I'm thinking I may reposition my computer's external radiator to be closer to a AC vent... just something to help with the cooling even more. I've already got my fan settings turned all the way down... but I'm never one to say "no" to lower temps.

tafletch

Distinguished
Apr 25, 2006