NEWBIE needing hard drive help

rynhrst

Distinguished
May 7, 2006
Hi Im a newbie and getting ready to build my first gaming system I already have a hp pavilion a1330n and im wanting to use the hard drive out of that pc for this new build and im wondering how or even if i can do that

Please help

rynhrst

Distinguished
May 7, 2006
The motherboard im going to use is a ABIT AT8 32X Socket 939 ATI CrossFire Radeon XPRESS 3200 ATX AMD Motherboard if that helps

kitchenshark

Distinguished
Dec 30, 2005
From what I was able to find out, it seems that the system is a more recent one, and has a fair size HDD. I say you should go ahead and use it in the new build.

The HDD will be supported by new MB's.

If you do a full install of windows (most likely scenario) you will need at least Win XP SP2 for it to recognize the full amount of space if the drive is over 137Gb though.

rynhrst

Distinguished
May 7, 2006
So will i have to buy a new operating system or will i be able to plug in the the hard drive and it work automaticaly

kitchenshark

Distinguished
Dec 30, 2005
In my personal experience Windows doesn't like being dumped into a new computer. All sorts of problems. I find it best to reinstall the OS completely.

I don't completely know what you're asking about buying a new OS. If you have a valid purchased XP key I think you should be able to get an install CD with XP sp2 on it without too much trouble.

rynhrst

Distinguished
May 7, 2006
The operating system that came with the pc has media center on it and its worthless to me so i was going to get the 64 bit os

kitchenshark

Distinguished
Dec 30, 2005
To be honest with you, I've tried XP 64 on 3 different occasions and each instance has left me with a bad taste in my mouth. Definitely didn't impress me much. Maybe it was my motherboard, I have a rather old one, but performance was dismal to put it mildly.