Sign in with
Your question

Need to build a new PC, could u guys lend a hand?

Last response: in Systems
May 7, 2006 6:28:56 PM

I heard from my friend that this forums were totally kickass and could help me build my system :p 

I've been doing a little research but I am no expert.

What I do know is that I need a PC now (like this week) because I am an exchange student in the US and back in Mexico, where I am from, there is NO WAY to get good deals on hardware (not to mention the latest).

So lets start.

Motherboard:

I know I will be using a 975 motherboard because I want to be able to upgrade to a Conroe processor in the future. I assume that this Mobo has ethernet, USB 2.0, firewire and stuff already integrated, right? Maybe even sound?

Processor:

High end to Medium High end. I dont know which kinds of processors I can get with the 975 mobo. :( 

GFx card Sound card:
I have no personal preference on either ATI or Nvidia. What I do know is that I want it to be moderately good, but not mega high end. I will be upgrading when the DX10 cards are available... So, there is no point spending a bundle.. maybe on the $250 range (should be enough to play the latest games, i recon) As for the sound card, any will be good I guess.

HDD:
Any will be good... I would like to have around 300 GB because I am going to be doing some media plus gaming on the side. I've read that its recommended to have like a small HDD for windows and program installs and a bigger secondary one to store media...

Case - Power supplies - Cooling:
I have no idea what to look for in this area. Any pointers? I have read that some cases are easier to open up and stuff... got any names? :) 

Monitor:
I have an oooold CRT, so a good LCD is in order. What specs should I take into consideration? I think for size around 19" or 21" widescreen if possible :p 

RAM:

I think 2 GB will last me quite a bit, but I dont know which brand or which type should i get?

KB - Mouse - Extra stuff: