MOBO to support Pentium D820?

cinematek

Distinguished
May 7, 2006
Hi all. It's time to replace my 1999-era 300mHz Celeron Gateway computer. (Hey... stop laughing... it got me through college!)

Anyway, this is my first attempt at building a complete system from the ground up. I bought a Pentium D820 CPU with an Asus P5ND2-SLI. I learned too late that the D820 is not supported by this mobo. The processor can't be returned, so I need a new mobo.

I am looking at the Asus P5WD2 Premium and the P5LD2 Deluxe (which has a slight edge for me right now because of the cheaper price tag).

I have no particular bias towards Asus, but based on my research, those are the boards that seem to be the best.

I am not a hardcore gamer. I do quite a bit of photoshop work and video editing, and while I have a separate system for my Avid, I may add Vegas or Premiere to the new system, although it will mostly be an internet/video watching/basic home computer.

I'd love to hear your opinions about what an appropriate mobo choice might be. Thanks.

fishmahn

Distinguished
Jul 6, 2004
Asus makes good Pentium4 boards. I hear more about the P5WD2 Prem. (probably the word 'premium' in there - after all its better than deluxe right?), but I haven't heard anything bad about the LD2. If the LD2 has the features you want/need (# of USB, IDE, PCI, etc.), get it.

Mike.

cinematek

Distinguished
May 7, 2006
Okay, maybe my original post was too broad. I have narrowed it down to a few choices and am having a hard time making a final decision. Since the CPU can't go back, I am trying to find a board to support it. In no particular order my choices are:

1) ECS PF22 Extreme - Feature set seems good, but their website and documentation seem a bit sparse. I don't get the sense that they have any kind of customer service.