Another "Give me your advice on this build" thread

oxyron

Distinguished
May 8, 2006
I'm looking to build my first system in the near future, and thought I'd post my spec's on here to get some feedback. The computer will be primarily used for gaming, light multi-tasking (I'm an engineering student, so I often run CAD in conjunction with some of my math programs), and general use. Any and all suggestions are appreciated.

Pricing is from NewEgg, but I will definately shop around before I purchase.

CPU: Athlon 64 X2 4200+ $357
Mobo: Asus A8N-E $89
RAM: Corsair XMS 2GB (1x2 GB) DDR SDRAM TwinX $164
Video: eVGA 7900GT 256MB $289
Mouse: Logitech MX518 $36
Key: Logitech UltraX wired $20
Sound: Audigy 2 ZS $65
HD: WD Caviar SE16 WD2500KS 250GB@7200 RPM $90

A few things:
1. I know I really don't want AM2 necessarily...from what I've been reading, there will only be a 5% increase in performance or something like that. However, is Conroe going to be spectacular that I should wait for that?
2. My video card choice...good/bad? Feel free to suggest something that will perform better, keep it priced under $350
3. I already have a monitor, DVD-ROM and CD/DVD-RW, and speakers, so I don't have those listed.
4. Case. I don't have a case listed, because I don't know whats good or bad. I've seen the Sonata-II recommended on here before. Will the 450w PSU that comes with it be enough for my system? If not, please feel free to suggest a case (a simple one without ridiculous LED's all over it) and PSU that will do the job.
5. I may OC the 4200+, and if I do...I'll be throwing a Zalman CNPS7000B-AlCu CPU fan on there. I should be able to get the 4200+ up around the performance of a 4600+ without much difficulty, correct?

Let me know if I have missed anything else that should be included for this build. Thanks..

The_Rev

Distinguished
Apr 30, 2006
A few things: