Something wrong with my homebuilt computer?

Khanate

Distinguished
Jul 28, 2003
Hi, I'm having some problems with my computer. I built myself, I'll list the problems then what are the components of my computer.

1) Really noisy, and I mean I'm surprised my neighbors don't call the cops after 11pm...

2) When I play world of warcraft I hit between 12 (during raids) to 25 fps (when nothing around) which is kinda low compared to what I asked other people get with similar hardware.

I built my computer myself although I have limited knowledge about computers but here it goes...

My hardware is:

Mobo: NF7-S
Graphic card: radeon 9800 pro 128mb
Ram: Samsung 2x512mb pc-3200 ddr400
Processor: athlon 2800+
PSU: Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W
I have a 10 cm fan at the back and a 6cm fan at the front (I havent even tested unplugging them tbh)
120g hard drive that HP (the original computer I stole most my components from) gave me with my computer
CD and DVD drive from Hp comp too

What would be common reasons for any of these reasons or would it be a bottleneck component in my computer causing the fps problem?

Thanks in advance,

Khan

PCcashCow

Distinguished
Jun 19, 2002
TH psu can be noisy, as well as 2 opti drives.

Noise can be reduced by a diffrent case, passive cooling, or water.
What kind of heatsink do you have? Thats probably where the noise is comming from most.

As for a 9800pro, your on the right track with your thinking. Im going to assume that you have cas3 ram, samsung usually is, chocked up by the 2800. Try tweeking your card to see if you get any results. I know the 9800 LE I had put out some quality. But that card is on the lowend side now. You could go to the last of the AGPs 7800 GT, Penny wise pound foolish is what my father used to say to me.

Khanate

Distinguished
Jul 28, 2003
TH psu can be noisy, as well as 2 opti drives.
My cd and dvd have nothing in them most of the time, they shouldn't be running though..