Building a gaming p.c. need advice.

patrick9

Distinguished
May 5, 2006
I was looking at towers, alienware, or guardian style (I know I am a dork) However I am about to place a bid on a processor. AMD FX-60. Is this the best on the market. And how much should I pay? They are going for around 800 on ebay now. Also what graphic chip and so on will I need. I am very new to building computers and I will probably have someone install the parts. Lastly, how many ports do I need?

SidVicious

Distinguished
Jan 15, 2002
Beware of e-bay scams and DOA CPUs, beside, an FX-60 is a big waste of money, you can get an X2 4400+ or Opteron 170 for half that price, freeing up plenty of money to buy an high-end GPU. If you absolutely want/need the extra 400MHz, just overclock your CPU.

Spend some time reading video card benchmarks to find out which GPU offers the performance that you are looking for.

Building your own computer is easy, provided that you take your time, use your common sense, read the manuals and "how to" guides.

What do you mean by "how many ports do I need" ?

patrick9

Distinguished
May 5, 2006
Some have 8 ports some have 11 I don't even know what that means. Or what overclocking means. I just bought oblivion and my laptop can't play it. So instead of letting collect dust. I am going to bite the bullet and build a p.c. Something that people have been trying to get me to do for quite a while. What main components make up a computer. What do I need to look for. Obviously the processor. I definitely want over 2.ghz maybe 3 preferrably. over 1 gig ram. I wan't to play Oblivion to it's full capacity. If I don't I might as well guy a 360. which I do not want to do. Is there another processor that would be supior to fx-60. I won't finish building for 3 months or so. So if there is anything in the works I might be interested in waiting

Considering you are looking on ebay for a CPU I'm guess you want power, but don't want to pay TOP dollar. Here are my recommendations: