Yellow-Asterisk

Distinguished
Apr 26, 2006
Hello, i am a novice builder and just constructed my first system. Using a program called PC Wizard. i found that my idle cpu temp is between 40-43C. i am running an opteron 165 on the stock cooler. i know temps can vary with ambient room temperature, but Is this around the normal? Also, at what temperature should i start worrying about temps? As in possible damage to my hardware.

Sorry if this has bee posted before, i tried to search but could not find an answer.

waylander

Distinguished
Nov 23, 2004
Hello, i am a novice builder and just constructed my first system. Using a program called PC Wizard. i found that my idle cpu temp is between 40-43C. i am running an opteron 165 on the stock cooler. i know temps can vary with ambient room temperature, but Is this around the normal? Also, at what temperature should i start worrying about temps? As in possible damage to my hardware.

Sorry if this has bee posted before, i tried to search but could not find an answer.

Doesn't sound like a problem but make sure it's under 60 at load.

Yellow-Asterisk

Distinguished
Apr 26, 2006
Thanks for the input. Whats the best way to determine the temperature at max load? And by that i mean, how do max out my cpu long enough to know its highest temp.

oenomel

Distinguished
Jan 23, 2006
Hmmm.

Mine idles a few degress lower than yours @ 2.25ghz.

Maybe check what the voltage is set at just to make sure it isn't higher than it needs to be, just to be sure.

kwalker

Distinguished
May 3, 2006
Hot im not
I'm more worried about too cool
never gets over 37 C full load hl2 1hour or 3d mark 2005 multiple runs.
your temps seem in line

threep

Distinguished
Mar 23, 2006
A) There's no such thing as too cool
B) For the best program for heating up just the processor, you want BurnK7. http://pages.sbcglobal.net/redelm/