Sign in with
Your question

Help OCing AMD CPU

Last response: in Overclocking
May 11, 2006 3:13:31 PM

I have the following CPU, Board and Memory.
I've tried to OC it on my own, by changing the FSB and the Vcore, but I always get an unstable system.

I would like to OC my CPU to 2100~2200 MHZ and running my memory at 200 Mhz (instead of 166)

I have little experience with overclocking, but since I've purchase my new Zalman coolers, I've been wanting to get the maximum out of my CPU and Memory.

can anyone help me in wich steps to follow with my current hardware (listed below)

thanks in advance

More about : ocing amd cpu

May 11, 2006 4:01:42 PM

I think I can help you out, but I'll need more information than what you've given (i.e. memory brand and model, temperatures at idle and load, voltages to your CPU, memory, and chipset). Please post a screenshot of the SPD tab from CPU-Z as this will give me a better starting point.

As far as a best guess? Try setting your vCore to 1.7 and manually specify FSB 200. That should work okay, but keep a close eye on your temperatures, both of the processor and northbridge chipset.

Post back with your results and we'll go further.

-J
May 11, 2006 4:27:11 PM

Start with this guide and go from there.
Related resources
May 11, 2006 4:29:32 PM

this is the info avaiable on my SPD tabs

I will try to do what that, and what about a stable ram @ 200mhz?

(and what can I use to test if my system is stable?)

May 11, 2006 4:38:42 PM

:roll: Shakes head, walks away.
May 11, 2006 4:43:16 PM

what's the matter, just a little help :roll:

everytime I change the memory to 200 Mhz, my system is unstable and crashes.

just help me out :wink:
May 11, 2006 5:15:19 PM

From the size of your ram it looks like you either have 3 - 512mb or 1 - 1gb and 1 - 512mb.

Can you run the ram at 200 mhz with just one slot or 2 slots (if you have 3-512mb)? Are all the ram the same manufacturer and type?
May 11, 2006 5:17:16 PM