RAID 0, 1, 0+1 or 5?

frango9000

Distinguished
May 13, 2006
Well im a noob in raid but as i have seen for gaming RAID 0 is the most used but as i have heard if 1 drive fails all fail... so raid 1 could be the answer right? except that it eats double of the HD space.. so mmm i actually got 4 250 WD KS drives. and i read in wiki that RAID 0+1 has the spped of raid 0 and the security of raid 1 but it also consumes doble space, but i really dont need 1tb SO... What you ppl recomend me to do?

I have also heard of RAID 5 but couldnt understand it... (thats not saying much cause i barely undestand woman, math, the world, etc...)

So back to the point, What should i use For lots of PC Usage basicly in gaming ...

DDay629

Distinguished
Mar 27, 2006
Why use raid at all? Are you doing video editing or anything that needs the space of 500 GB's in one "HD"? If not, just don't do raid. All your games and programs will EASILY fit on one of those WD's, and if you want, you should get a Raptor for those and use the others for other stuff. I don't know what, I guess something like the entire collection of internet pr0n.

DDay

p8ntslinger676

Distinguished
Dec 23, 2005
0+1 is the best way to go thats what i would do if i had four drives. or sell two and buy two raptors and put them in a raid 0 for your os and programs, maybe two 36gb ones, cheap as a 74 gb raptor but you get the speed for start up of programs and os. are you going to be putting that many programs on your computer other than the os???

vimka

Distinguished
Mar 26, 2006
RAID-5 is the best combination of speed/security.

The way it works, in a nutshell, is by storing parity data across all drives. Drive A is stored on B, C, and D. Drive B is stored on A, C, and D. Thus if one drive fails, you can replace the drive and rebuild the array from the parity data. This does, however, consume 1 drive worth of space and speed.