Sign in with
Your question

K8N Neo4 memory command rate problem

Last response: in Motherboards
May 14, 2006 7:15:45 PM

Can someone please tell me how to change the command rate for my memory. cpu-z tells me it's 2T. The only memory option in bios with the available settings as 1T or 2T (or Auto) is Read to Write Delay (Twtr). I'm not very good with understanding the dynamics of memory settings and can't find anything for Command Rate in my bios!
May 15, 2006 7:45:19 PM

From the PDF manual on the MSI website, (i.e., in case this manual doesn't match yours...) on pg 3-12 is the description of 1T/2T memory timing, which is what you want. Its near the bottom of the screen on the screenshot on pg 3-10.

Mike.
May 16, 2006 12:31:15 AM

My manual only goes up to 3-8. The things is the '1T/2T Memory Timing' setting doesn't exist in my bios, despite what the diagram shows. I've discovered others with the same problem on the MSI forums, but the matter doesn't get answered properly. I've mailed MSI tech support and am waiting for a reply. Here's a link to one of the posts:

http://forum.msi.com.tw/index.php?PHPSESSID=1c97e5e7f8e...

edit: I've just checked back to this post and someone has mentioned a solution. Apparently it's hidden and requires some key presses to reveal it. I'll check it out and report back tomorrow!
Related resources
May 16, 2006 11:38:18 AM

Well, the key presses did nothing! Well they brought up a few extra options under the 'Cell' menu but nothing to do with the command rate in the 'DRAM Config' menu.

One guy just keeps insisting it's there, and to set 'User Config' to manual, but that achieves nothing.
May 16, 2006 12:45:06 PM

That sucks!

Unfortunately they would be better able to help than I would. You know how you prove them wrong dont' you? Take a screenshot and post it for them. Make it their failing. Right now they can blame you for being blind. If you show them your screen, they have proof that you're not blind.

Mike.
a b } Memory