Opteron 146 vs A64 3500+?

dclopper

Distinguished
May 17, 2006
I'm buying a new mobo / cpu for my system and have already gotten some feedback from the mobo forum regarding possible combinations which would fit in my budget (around $350). The main thrust in the feedback on the CPU end was to go with a A64 3500+ (Venice), as that would give me the best bang for the buck for gaming without overclocking (since I'm not interested in overclocking).

But then I noticed that Monarch Computers had some good prices on combo systems with the Opty 146, and wanted to get people's thoughts on the 146 versus the 3500+. I couldn't find a benchmark comparison online, and since this is a pure CPU question, figured I'd post here instead of under my previous posting in the mobo forum.

I'm new to AMD (all my previous PCs, including home-built, have been Intel) so apologies in advance if this is a "duh, no comparison" kind of question. Thanks in advance for any advice you can give!

ZOldDude

Distinguished
Apr 22, 2006
I'm buying a new mobo / cpu for my system and have already gotten some feedback from the mobo forum regarding possible combinations which would fit in my budget (around $350). The main thrust in the feedback on the CPU end was to go with a A64 3500+ (Venice), as that would give me the best bang for the buck for gaming without overclocking (since I'm not interested in overclocking).

But then I noticed that Monarch Computers had some good prices on combo systems with the Opty 146, and wanted to get people's thoughts on the 146 versus the 3500+. I couldn't find a benchmark comparison online, and since this is a pure CPU question, figured I'd post here instead of under my previous posting in the mobo forum.

I'm new to AMD (all my previous PCs, including home-built, have been Intel) so apologies in advance if this is a "duh, no comparison" kind of question. Thanks in advance for any advice you can give!