Sign in with
Your question

Gaming rig Build

Last response: in Systems
May 18, 2006 3:52:35 AM

Hey everyone,
I'm a student who's building a gaming PC for using in his hostel. The budget for the build is $1550. It'll be made in Mumbai,India and timeframe will be July. I want to start checking out the various options and prices while i'm on holiday and finsh the build as soon as i can when i get back to Mumbai(Holidays right now :D  ). For those who are not familiar with Indian Rupees i've added the US$ prices i saw on newegg. Since i'm unikely to get discount(Newegg don't ship here)and the extra import taxes all i guess my budget should be around $1400.
I want answers to ...well quite a few questions. But first of all here's the configuration i've decided on for the moment.
->AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ - Rs.16800 - $297
->DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail - Rs.9000?? - $122
(I've heard a lot about this being good for OC)
->1GB(2x512MB) DDR PC 3200RAM - 5500?? - $??
(which brand and model do you suggest?I want dual channel and if possible low latency)
->Segate 250GB Barracuda HDD - Rs. 5280 - $90
->Samsung DVD writer 16x - 2700 - $35
->Antec Sonata 2 with 450w PSU - 7000?? - $100
->SyncMaster 798MB PLUS 17" - 6600 - $??
->Creative Inspire 5.1 speakers - 4500?? - $70

That's pretty much the base configuration that i want to go with.The total price of the above comes to be around 57380 - $714(leaving out the price of the ram and the monitor) . My questions are(in addition to those i asked above) :D 
1)Are those prices correct in MUMBAI?? Which is the best place to buy the stuff there?(If anyone from India reads this 8O ?
2)Any compatibility issues??
3)Any suggestions on the parts already listed??