Sign in with
Your question

First OC Project

Last response: in Overclocking
May 18, 2006 1:16:15 PM

So i have set out to attempt my very first OC project. Now since this is my first time i didnt want to use my currnet pc. I pulled my old AMD Athlon XP 2400+ out and decided that would be a good start. First thing i did was went and bought an aftermarket cooler.
I went with the Thermaltake Extreme

Stock FSB(133): With this Fan/Heatsink on full blast it idels at about 45C. While playing games etc it gets up to about 50-51C. I havent seen much difference from low speed to high in temp(maybe 1-2C)

Now i read the above post about OCing an athlon XP and it suggests using 3DMark01SE.

So i went out and got that.

In following the instructions in that post(Here) i upped my FSB by 4 each test. After every increase i would run the 3DMark. im up to 150 FSB and my temps havent changed. This seems a bit odd to me. But it seems correct.

Im getting to the point where i feel its prolly not gunna boot up(prolly between 155-160 FSB) and i will need to up my voltage. Here is where my little problem comes in. My CPU Vcore is set to auto, and im not sure how to find out what its actually at. Is there a program out there that can tell me? Also is there anything else i should be doing other than 3DMark01SE to test for stability/heat issues. This PC wil be used primarily for Gaming (World of Warcraft in Particular). Any info is appreciated.

More about : project

May 18, 2006 2:36:49 PM

awesome man, thats exactly what im looking for.
Related resources
May 18, 2006 3:04:00 PM

No problem bro.
May 18, 2006 3:23:54 PM

Should i mess with the multiplier at all? Some of the other guides push the FSB from 133 to 166 and lower the multiplier from 15 to 12. Does this yeild better performance?. Is lower the multiplier the better? Or higher the better?
May 18, 2006 4:13:54 PM