Networking a student house

JHoxley

Distinguished
Oct 19, 2002
hi all,

I'm not new to computers, but I'm fairly new to networking... and I'm finding myself a little overloaded with all the information on setting up home networks :(

Any chance someone can comment/verify/whatever this idea:

- 1 residential house
- 5 residents (5 computers - 3 desktop, 2 laptop)
- 1 broadband internet connection (ADSL)
- All 5 computers have a 10/100 ethernet card in them from when we were all in the halls of residence network

we need to set up a home network so we can all access the internet, and share files between computers (printer sharing, LAN gaming is useful, but not really essential).

we also, being students, dont have much money - so a cheap solution is essential :)

<b>my solution:</b>
- purchase 1 ADSL router with 8 ports (can only find 4 or 8 ports, and 4 is too few)
- purchase necessary lengths of cabling to go from said router to all 5 computers
- plug ADSL into the router

hopefully that'll work just fine?? iirc 3 (maybe 4) of the machines are running windows xp, the other is on either 98 or ME.

can anybody point out any problems / pitfalls with that?

cheers,
Jack

jlanka

Splendid
Mar 16, 2001
how much is the ADSL router? Another option would be to get a something like a <A HREF="http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduct.asp?submit=manufactory&catalog=28&manufactory=1015&DEPA=5&sortby=14&order=1" target="_new">D-Link 704P</A> from newegg for $57 ($15 rebate additional if you buy today) which has a printer port, along with a <A HREF="http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduct.asp?submit=manufactory&catalog=30&manufactory=1605&DEPA=5&sortby=14&order=1" target="_new">Gigafast hub</A> for $22. Then see what sort of deal your ISP gives on just a plain DSL modem (I got mine for $12). I'm guessing that would be cheaper than the 8-port ADSL modem/router combo. Also, with the 2 boxes it's slightly more flexible locality-wise.

<i>It's always the one thing you never suspected.</i>