Sign in with
Your question

First time build, can you take a look at my shopping list?

Last response: in Systems
May 21, 2006 3:05:33 AM

Wow, what an awesome forum! This will be my first build ever,but because of this forum I'm more at ease with a lot of my choices. However, I wanted to run my projected shopping list by you and see what you thought.

My primary use for the computer is Online Gaming (specifically EverQuest II). I'm not going SLI to start with but want the option to upgrade in the near future. Overclocking is a possiblity later, but actually far from my mind as I've never done it before and don't want to screw anything up.

The prices next to the items are the lowest (but Reliable) stores listed online. I'm not on an extremely tight budget, but don't want to sleep with my new PC on the couch when my wife sees the end price. The specs below would run me about $2300 +shipping/handling, want to stay in the range of $2300-2500.

Please any advise you can give will be greatly appreciated.

Case:
1. Antec Performance One P180 (00761345818001) ATX Mid-Tower Case ($119.99) without power supply - I personnally like the separation of the components and the PSU, although concerned with the Heat raising aspect.

Power Supply:
1. SeaSonic S12-600 (S12600) 600-Watt Power Supply ( $160.00 ) - More for upgrading later.

Motherboard:
1. ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe (90M9L1E0G0EAY) Motherboard ( $199.99 ) - Seemed to be the best board for SLI upgrade with the 2 PCI-e 16X slots.

Processor:
1. AMD Athlon 64 X2 4600+, 2.4 GHz (ADA4600BVBOX) ( $547.00 ) - While i would love to buy the FX-60, I can't see myself paying $1,000+ for a processor and don't see that big an improvement from the 4600 to 4800.

Memory:
1. Kingston 400MHz 1 GB PC3200 DDR RAM (kvr400x64c3a/1g) ( $83.99 x2 = $167.98 ) - Would 2GB be sufficent? Are the benefits noticable upgrading to 4GB?

Cooler: