Sign in with
Your question

Need Help Deciding Dual or Single Processor

Last response: in CPUs
May 22, 2006 5:10:58 AM

So I haven't been following computers for like 4 years now, and I've decided to build my own. Basically I'd like to get back into gaming, but being a college student I'm on a tight budget.

I've been looking around for CPUs, and I came across http://www23.tomshardware.com/cpu.html. After looking through the charts I decided that if I wanted to get back into gaming I shouldn't go for a dual core, but then I read that games are starting to take advantage of dual core, and Windows Vista is coming out etc etc etc blah blah.

Here's the bottom line:
For $200 (my budget for a CPU) I can get:
AMD Athlon 64 3700+ (San Diego), which performs very well on the above link.

But if I decide to be forward looking and get a Dual Core, buying even the low end AMD (X2 3800+) would break my budget. And I have a feeling that if I'm forward looking I shouldn't go with the low end. The other option for dual core is Pentium D, but those are also quite expensive and don't perform as well as the amd 64 on games above.

So, with ~$200:

Should I go with the Athlon 64 3700+, wait until the X2s go down, or get a low end Pentium D? Any suggestions at all are appreciated.

(btw-my graphics card will most likely be a geforce 6800 gt or gs)
May 22, 2006 5:26:07 AM

The question of the day. When will you be buying?
May 22, 2006 5:32:47 AM

You can get a Intel Dual core 805 for $125 (Best bang for the buck) with a Conroe capable motherboard and overclock the 805 to decent performance while you learn how to tune the BIOS, and when ready buy a $300 Conroe which can be overclocked to speeds beating an AMD FX-62...
Conroe chips should be available in about 6 weeks.
Related resources
May 22, 2006 6:51:44 AM

Not the 805 line again.