Sign in with
Your question

Harddrive and virus help

Last response: in Components
May 23, 2006 2:13:43 AM

Hey guys I hope you can help me. I brought up the Microsoft explorer browser yesterday and my MicroTrend Anti-virus screen popped up saying that it could not quarantine a virus that I just recieved.
So I rebooted into safe-mode and did a scan with "Spy Bot Search and Destroy" and also "Ad-Ware". I did this several times; and then rebooted into regular mode. My computer is still really slow, here are the things I noticed:

1) Micro-Trend Anti Virus icon on my tool bar keeps on saying "Scanning out going mail"

2) When I go into "Window Task Manager" my CPU usage is 100% and I dont have any applications on. Also it says "tmproxy.exe" is using 98% of my CPU, in the Processes section.

I really messed up guys!! THis is my first build and I kinda ran out of patience. So I tried to reformat this harddrive by putting the Windows XP disc in the CD drive and restart it.
A menu came up and I clicked on "install windows", I figured it would erase this harddrive before reinstalling it again. I guess it installed it and the computer rebooted. However, during rebooting a blue screen came up and said something about the computer can't continue because it might cause damage and also it says there is a virus in the harddrive.
How can I get rid of this virus if I can't even go into windows. Is this a way to maually erase the harddrive?

This is my first time and I thought I knew what I was doing but I didnt.....please help!!

ok here it goes.....

1) Computer is booting up, AMD logo appears, a black screen appears and it shows a list of sequences, it always did that when the computer worked.
2)Then it gives me options to go into "Safe Mode", "Start Normally" and other options. If I pick one of them, a blue screen appears and says: