Looking for advice on a first time homebuilt system.

JMessina

Distinguished
May 24, 2006
Hello everyone, this is my first time posting on these forums, but from what I've dug through so far, you all seem like a very kind and knowledgeable bunch!

Next to my desk is a large Alienware ATX case that contains the innards of a PC that died several months ago. It is about 2 years old and contains a 1.8 P4 and all the high end parts you'd imagine it containing when a 1.8 was the best you could get. I've never investigated the cause of it and after waiting as long as I have the desire to upgrade anyway seems like enough of a reason to scrap most of it. The case is the only part I feel like keeping, but even this is something I could part with if it would be best.

So far the pieces of hardware that I feel strongly about are two UltraSharp 2007WFP 20.1-inch Widescreen Flat Panel LCD Monitor priced at about $380.00 as of 5/23.
http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/productdetail.aspx?c=us&l=en&s=dhs&cs=19&sku=320-4688

I've heard good things about them and they seem reasonably priced for what you get. As with anything, if anyone has a better suggestion for monitors, feel free. BTW, the reason that I need two of them is that this PC will be running Avid, which is a piece of video editing software (which is a pretty resource intensive piece of software) where two monitors is fairly essential to speedy workflow. This PC will also be a gaming PC as well, so please keep those two things in mind.

I am trying to keep the budget at or around $2,000.00 including the monitors I have listed above. I am slightly more of a Console gamer, so this PC does not need to leave others in the dust.

I have run through Newegg.com several times and put together what I thought were the parts I needed and was able to come up with something that I was reasonably happy with that fit my budget. I did this mostly by basing my part choices off of their overall rating, number of votes and cost of course.