First-time builder; short-time reader. Help for the new guy?

whimbrel

Distinguished
May 24, 2006
Hi, all. The video card on my laptop is in the process of destroying itself, and so I find myself without a reliable computer. I think I've decided to build a PC for the heavy lifting work, and then to buy a portable tablet PC for my notebook needs.

I'm fairly tech-savvy, but I've never built a PC before, so I've got some pretty basic questions I could use help with.

First, here's what I'm looking for:
- I'd like to spend less than $2000, including a pretty good LCD monitor.
- I'd like to dual-boot into Windows (for games and photo-editing) and Linux (for data analysis).
- I'll use this computer for photo-editing in PS2, the newest FPS games, and some heavy duty MATLAB number crunching (gigabytes of fMRI data).
- I'd probably prefer something that's 64-bit, so I get the most out of Vista, and so that my MATLAB analyses run faster. However, I might be ok getting a 32-bit processor now, if there's a fairly simple upgrade path to 64-bit.

So, here are my more specific questions:

1) CPU: I'd like to get something dual-core, and I hear the upcoming Intel dual-core release (Conroe?) is going to be fantastic. However, I sort of need to build a PC soon, before this current laptop totally implodes. Given that, do I
a) get an AMD Dual-core CPU? (if so, which?)
b) get one of the existing Intel CPUs? (which?), or,
c) get one of the existing Intel CPUs and upgrade it when Conroe comes out? (Is this even possible, or would I need a different motherboard?)

2) Graphics card(s): I'd prefer to be able to play the latest FPS games at high settings, but I don't want to spend crazy amounts of money on a DX9 card when DX10 will be coming out with Vista next year. Am I better off:
a) getting a single nice GPU (like the 7900?)? or,