stability problems - newly built athlon X2 4200+

krappyappy

Distinguished
May 24, 2006
this is my first build from scratch, so problems are expected. well, it's certainly met that expectation. this is to be my main rig, for gaming, video work, and general use, but for right now, my goal is to get BF2 to run correctly.

parts and specifications
mainboard - biostar nf4ul-a9
proc -------- amd athlon64 X2 4200+, stock HSF with AS5
hdd --------- wd caviar se16 250gb sata 7200 rpm
memory ---- 2x1gb g. skill ddr400 2.5-3-3-6 in dual channel
gpu --------- xfx 7900gt 256 mb
sound ------ creative x-fi xtrememusic
psu --------- enermax elt500awt 500w SLI [22a @ 12v]

the case has two 80mm fans in the front and back, and a side mounted smaller one.

running winxp pro sp2 corp edition

symptoms
windows seems to bluescreen whenever i have too many things going on at once, which is contrary to how a dual core setup should be performing. in 6-7 hours of operation i've had as many blue screen crashes. the sound will sometimes not work, but can be fixed by toggling the x-fi's mode of operation. STEAM does something strange - it opens up multiple windows once i am logged in, none of which do anything. they can't be closed and do not show up in task manager, they are just buttons in the taskbar with the STEAM logo.