What to look for in a sound card?

new_guy120

Distinguished
May 25, 2006
Hello. I'm planning on purchasing a new sound card for a friend to install. I have no knowledge about sound cards so I'm hoping someone can help :p
What are some of the key features/specs to look for when buying a sound card? And if possible, why? 8O

astrallite

Distinguished
Sep 18, 2005
Questions to as are:

(1) What do I want?
subgroup (a) I just want a no frills surround sound card.

A barebones surround sound card with bitperfect SPDIF optical playback can be had for as low as $20, the Chaintech AV-710.

(b) I really like that marketting jargon. That EAX-stuff and all those surround effects.

Try the Creative X-Fi. The lowest range is $75 roughly. Yar! But you do lose out on bitperfect analog playback; everything gets resampled to 48KHz.

(c) I need a breakout box in the front. For recording and extra connectivity!

Try the Creative X-Fi's larger brothers, with breakout boxes. Around $300ish?

(2) What is my budget?

subgroup (a) I don't know!

Then think hard about it...

(b) I know what it is!

If you need more specific suggestions, be more specific in your needs. The electronics and noise level differences are pretty neglible today for most PCI sound cards. The difference is mostly in specific features, such as Dolby Digital real time encoding, or specific software soundeffects, or bitperfect playback, etc, etc.

inuyashafly

Distinguished
Nov 29, 2005
I got the x fi music. I love it to death. I am a audiophile. It makes stuff sound better than the origional mp3 cd etc.

Do you play games?
EAX advanced hd 5.0