2 7900gts or 1 7900gtx (for now)... or 7950GX2?

Gormeroth

Distinguished
May 25, 2006
hey guys, i'm new to posting here but i'd like some opinions...

buying a new system soon... possibily when conroe comes out unless i can see a brighter future than what we currently foresee for the am2 chipset. but that's a different (and possibily inflammatory) topic for a later date :).

i can wait for conroe, but i can't wait for dx10 cards... lord knows when that's going to come into play.

anyway i'm currently running a 6800gt with a 754 amd 3200+.

my main question is with regards to my video card(s) selection...

2 7900gts = $600'ish
1 7900gtx = $400-$500'ish
1 7950GX2? = $650?

by the time i do upgrade the 7950GX2 will actually be an option but would it make more sense than to get 2 7900gts? To me right now that almost seems like the best bang for the buck.. Could i get some opinions?

please go easy on me if i've made any mistakes here. i am a newb :)

Gorm

ps. i know i could go ati but would i be for around $600 total would i be able to really get that good of a bang for my buck on the ATI end of things? perhaps 2 1900xts???

cleeve

Illustrious
If you don't require uber-high resolutions, a single 7900 GT or X1800 XT will do you just fine.

Even better would be a single X1900 XT.

If you absolutely need super-high res and AA, two 7900 GTs would be good... better than a single 7900 GTX. But remember, you need a great PSU to push two cards like that.
And the increase in performance won't exactly be cost effective. Two 7900 GTs won't be twice as fast as a single 7900 GT...

Gormeroth

Distinguished
May 25, 2006
If you don't require uber-high resolutions, a single 7900 GT or X1800 XT will do you just fine.

Even better would be a single X1900 XT.

If you absolutely need super-high res and AA, two 7900 GTs would be good... better than a single 7900 GTX. But remember, you need a great PSU to push two cards like that.