modifying Lian Li 6070b Plus

rossglen

Distinguished
Mar 21, 2006
Hi people!

Building my first...and have been collecting components. I am now trying to decide about the case. @frozencpu.com they're selling a 'mod' 6070B Plus by adding 3 120 Coolermaster Ultra Quiet fans, silver grills for the fans and sound killing system--installed--for $269.00 plus shipping coming to $304.00.
I've found the same case for $169 with its standard fans without an after market noise killing sys.
It's rather obvious to me, but wanted to see what "my mentors'" thought, that I'me getting taken for a ride! How much of a job would it be to make the holes in the case for 3 120's and install the fans myself? And after market sound deadening material.
Because I'm a newbie and implusive as hell I always learn more after the fact. I think I can still cancel the order.
What should I do???
Thanks again for all your help!

Ross

MG37221

Distinguished
Mar 17, 2006
I have a 6070B Plus. It is a remarkably lovely case. Not for overclockers as it just doesn't cool as well as my PC-65B but it is much quieter. Consider that you're spending a good deal of money on your case. Got mine from coolerguys.com and spent about the same $169. Cutting into the case is going to lessen noise reduction because the fans have to blow somewhere and that leads to noise. I'm running an X2-3800 and it does just fine without extra cooling. If you're going to use a hotter processor, I'd recommend lookng elsewhere because, while the 6070 series is a work of art, it's primary feature is the quiet, which you will eliminate by putting in so many fans.

Just my $.02.

rossglen

Distinguished
Mar 21, 2006
Hey MG & Wun...