Sign in with
Your question

Need help with laptop

Last response: in CPUs
May 31, 2006 3:15:41 AM

i bought a Acer laptop last year with a AMD sempron 2800+ processor and 256 mb ddr ram. can somebody pl tell me if it is possible to change the processor to a athlon or similar one and replace the ram with a 1 gb ddr2 ram in the same laptop. 8)

i am a computer newbie and dont understand the concepts very throughly.

swapnil

More about : laptop

May 31, 2006 3:21:01 AM

Quote:
i bought a Acer laptop last year with a AMD sempron 2800+ processor and 256 mb ddr ram. can somebody pl tell me if it is possible to change the processor to a athlon or similar one and replace the ram with a 1 gb ddr2 ram in the same laptop. 8)

swapnil

You can not use ddr2 ram in your laptop, it takes ddr ram. I would suggest maxing it out to 2 gigs, with 2 1 gig pieces of 240pin sodimm pc400 ddr ram. The cpu is a socket 754, I am not sure if i would spend money on the cpu, just spend it on the ram.
May 31, 2006 4:49:08 AM

Swapnil, Do you have an "Acer Aspire AS3002...." notebook?

You are looking for “200-pin sodimm, DDR400 (PC3200)” notebook memory.
Or,
Your system came with “200-pin sodimm, DDR333 (PC2700)” notebook memory (most likely).

Both will work.

Crucial provides a list of compatible memory;

http://www.crucial.com/store/listparts.asp?Mfr%2BProduc...

DDR PC3200 • CL=3 • UNBUFFERED • NON-ECC • DDR400 • 2.5V

NewEgg, or another derivative will offer brand choices.

You have 2 slots. A 256mb card is currently in one slot. Adding a 1 gig card to the empty slot would, most likely, substantially fulfill main stream uses for your current rig.

There are good arguments to matching brands and timings. A simple solution would be to take a small screwdriver, remove the memory cover, and copy down the brand and specifications of your current memory.
Related resources
May 31, 2006 5:57:37 AM

thanks

i went to the site and its really nice. will see which one is available here in india.