PC Keeps restarting its self!

sxsam

Distinguished
May 22, 2006
For some reason my new build keeps restarting its self and its getting very annoying!!

Spec is:

AMD X2 4800+
DFI NF4 Expert
Western Digital 16mb SATA HD
OCZ Gold 2GB RAM
ASUS 7900GTX 512MB Graphics Card
Fortron Source 550w Power Supply

Anyone got any idea's as to why it keeps restarting its self??

This is my first build so if someone could advise me of stuff that I could have missed out or anyone known faults with any of my parts which could be making it restart that would be great!

Thanks, Sam

PCcashCow

Distinguished
Jun 19, 2002
Sam,

Did the restarts happen from the beinging? Or after drivers were installed on top of th OS?

You should be getting a dump file somewher eon your system just before dirty down.

You may want to reinstall the OS on this build beucase your system is freaking out about something.

Make sure your bios settings are at fails safe defaults, then do a reboot in to safe mode & check all device settings. If you dont see any minidumps there your next best bet is to do a reinstall with on sitck of that ram. The timmings could be off, or maybe a bad sitck. Just play around with a configuration that gets you stable. If you can't try a system restart, or use filemon to see what is triggering the restart.

BTW 16mb hdd? 160gig lol.

waylander

Distinguished
Nov 23, 2004
More information please, it's pretty important to know WHEN it's restarting. How far do you get into the boot before it restarts. Have you been able to install an OS on it yet?

sxsam

Distinguished
May 22, 2006
Sorry its a 250gb HD!

I can get in to windows XP, it does'nt always reboot at the same time, it just happens randomly! Dont get a blue screen when it does it, the system just fully restarts for no reason, the only things ive installed are the drivers that came on the CD's, sometimes it will reboot after a few minuites or sometimes it takes an hour or two!

Cheers, Sam

chuckshissle

Splendid
Feb 2, 2006