Sign in with
Your question

Synthetic motor oil

Last response: in Cars
September 18, 2011 1:47:05 AM

I have a suspicion that synthetic oil isn't always the best option , but i am not totally sure if i am being paranoid or funny or something . I should also mention that i am not a stranger to things mechanical of nature , i have worked at a kawasaki dealer (in the shop) for a few years and done many of my own auto repairs in adition to working in a small engine shop (power equipment) , but i am not an auto mechanic .I have owned many vehicles with high miles and when i go to change oil , i have no idea what was in the engine so i replace the oil with mobile 1 synthetic and a premium filter . Sometimes i think i notice the engine sounds noisier than before , or i see a 1/2 quart consumed in 500 miles . I am also not so sure i see better mileage with synthetic oil in my engine either .I should also mention that when i see oil consumption i add some lucas oil stabilizer and that seems to slow it down a bit .

I guess I would like to hear if anybody else has had these thoughts regarding synthetic oil .

More about : synthetic motor oil

September 18, 2011 2:10:11 AM

This subject is a can of worms and filled with a lot of unsubstantiated opinion and few facts.

That being said there is plenty of online technical info. available. Some is subjective opinion and some objective, factual info. In general synthetic oils "can" offer advantages over non-synthetic oils such as higher operating temps., lower consumption, less viscosity index additives (if any), better lubrication, less oxidation, longer oil change intervals, (OCIs), lower friction, better film strength, etc.