Newbie Builder....absolute newbie...wires.

Lotacatz

Distinguished
Jun 6, 2006
This is a first build...stone newbie as a builder..but I just had to do it. I'm terrified at the thought of sending power thru it. I'm still now sure of some of the wireing...I go over and over and had to redo a few..Not everything is nice and labled.

I do wish some of the instructions that come with our goodies would take us newbies by the hand...this goes here and this goes here...with color pictures. So many have black and white teeny tiny can't see too well pix.

I have put together....

Enermax CS-718 case - wind tunnel design...loading stuff from the right side. Inverted mobo. 460 watt PSU

A8N-E

AMD Athlon 64 X2 4600+ Manchester 2000MHz HT 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket 939 Dual Core Processor.

eVGA 512-P2-N575-AX Geforce 7900GTX 512MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16

Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS Platinum Pro
encompassing 7.1 surround sound for Dolby Digital.

Kingston ValueRAM 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR 400 PC3200

Seagate 7200.9 400Gb with 3.AAH Firmware

The Inspire P7800 speakers 7.1

I know I should have started power and looked stuff over way sooner...but I didn't..just kept building.

Now I've never been so terrified of electricity.

Tho Enermax is good about labeling wires, there's still questions.

1. Thefirst device is the ROM and according to the Plextor diagram..the slave is the one on the first part of the IDE cable...and the Plextor burner master on the secord part...I've always seen it the other way around and when I've replaced drives kept the rom on top as master and the burner slave...does it really matter?

2. Video. Three wires..yellow black brown connected to red black black yellow...three male and four hole power connector...fits ok. The connector provided by Audigy says to use it. Somewhere I have a book that says something about the brown wires...can't find it.

3. Those cute colorful wires on the end of the firewire that is not connected anywhere.