VERY Basic liquid cooling question (I think) PLEASE ADVISE

rman3349

Distinguished
Jun 3, 2006
Ok so I got a coolermaster aquagate cooling system for my cpu because I want to overclock it. However, it does not come with a VGA waterblock or any way to extend the system to the video card. What I was wondering is this: Is is possible for me to simply buy a vga waterblock and some tubing and run the thing to my card before it goes back to the system? will this effect the flow? I'm a total rookie with the liquid cooling stuff so any help is apprecgtiated but please don't assume any pre existing knowledge on my part as I have none. Thanks!

wun911

Distinguished
Apr 28, 2006
yep it will reduce the flow/pressure etc.... dont get me wrong it can be done... how effective it will be is debateable...

waylander

Distinguished
Nov 23, 2004
yes you can do this, as i'm sure you realize that kit is not a very good one and is intended for cooling one component only but you could probably get slightly better than the stock cooler on the vga card if you extend your loop.

When doing so make sure that the vga block has the same size connectors as the cpu block. Basically I think your kit is either 1/4" or 3/8" so buy a couple more feet of that size tubing and make sure your vga block has the right size connectors, buy a couple more hose clamps and you're set to go. make sure you run it for a couple hours after you are done to leak test it before giving power to everything else. wet with no power is ok, wet with power is bad.. bad.. boom.

shawnlizzle =]

Distinguished
Feb 2, 2005
stay away from those aquagate kits, they barely cool your cpu and kill your computer if you add a gpu block on

its doable, only if you have money and a perfectly good computer to burn

rman3349

Distinguished
Jun 3, 2006