Sign in with
Your question

LCD or CRT? Need some help Anyone feeling nice?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
June 8, 2006 1:24:20 PM

Hi guys,

I am pretty new to Toms, so bear with me if I seem a bit green on a few things.

I am designing a rig for after my honeymoon and now that the Nvidia 7950GX2 tech is out I am pretty stoked. I really wanted to try an SLI rig but wasnt overly excited to see most of the board crammed up with the 2 video cards making it nearly impossible to add other things in the future. Now that this is out I am pretty excited :)  I will probally wait till it comes down in price for a while mind you. I tend to buy the 2nd best or 3rd best video card when I build.

Now here is the delemia.

I have been looking at getting a flat panel. I really dont want to spend more than 500 bucks on it though. I had my eye on the Viewsonic VX922 but now I see it really doesnt have a super high resolution option. This new video card preforms BETTER at the higher reso.. and SLI almost requires me to have a really good resolution or its a waste right?

So am I doomed to not be able to have a flat panel? Should I go looking at the Graphics 20 inch model CRT for 499$ that they have on the viewsonic site? I dont like the bulk and weight of a CRT... but to use what tech I have my eye on.. would you say I am probally gonna have to grab a CRT?

Educate me :/ 
Ghost of War

More about : lcd crt feeling nice

June 8, 2006 1:42:50 PM

I like this screen it's cheap and has good specs for more i would go with this one not so sure with this one though heard good things about the viewsonic though I wan't to get it myself. :wink:
June 8, 2006 1:59:11 PM

But what resolution do they get.. thats the key
Related resources
June 8, 2006 2:11:22 PM