A slew of odd-ball questions...

bombasschicken

Distinguished
Jan 31, 2006
Just built up a new system (look in my sig) and all sorts of questions started comming to me..

im new to intel so give me a break.. i found a misprint in a Fry's ad here in las vegas that got me a Pentium D 820 and an ECS 945P-A for $140 including tax.. haha so i had to take it.. this will be replacing my A64 3200+.. this IS an upgrade right?

first what the hell is up with intel's chip name designation? i mean i see that some chips have diff numbers for their names but have the same specs.. maybe i just didnt look into them enough but they look the same.. so im really confused here.. (remember i was an amd guy)

second the new board i got came with 1gb 4.4.4.12 DDR2 ram.. compared to the numbers on regular DDR these numbers are high.. is this how DDR2 ram is suppose to be? Is this fast?

third.. i use Speedfan and the website is not very clear. My temp3 sensor says 114c. What is the temp3 sensor? is this just a bug? 114c is really frekin hot but nothing inside feels that hot..

forth.. its an intel board that supports 2 pci-e video cards in a sorta crossfire sorta kinda intel mode.. i have 2 x800 cards.. one is from ati the other is from HIS.. can i use these in the corssfire mode??

fifth.. i also have a gforce 7600gs.. is this better than the x800? or vise versa??

I think thats all the questions i have for now.. any help?? thanks...

Muso

Distinguished
Jan 26, 2002
second the new board i got came with 1gb 4.4.4.12 DDR2 ram.. compared to the numbers on regular DDR these numbers are high.. is this how DDR2 ram is suppose to be? Is this fast?

Those aren't the lowest timings available, and are closer to value ram timings. The stick included with the motherboard is probably generic or value ram. We can't tell if it's fast or not, because you didn't post the speed of the ram.