First Time Builder

Smutchings

Distinguished
May 19, 2006
I have never built a computer myself before, but would like to. I am looking at doing a computing degree at University, so would like to get myself a new computer when i start the course in about 2 years. I know this is quite early to be talking about getting a new system ,with loads of changes probably going to happen in that time, but i am really new to this so need as much help as i can get.

I am looking for a computer that would be suitable to do the following things:

[*:25858f4734]Multimedia Use (Movies, Music, Video)
[*:25858f4734]Web Design
[*:25858f4734]Standard Work (word processing, excel spreadsheets, desktop publishing)
[*:25858f4734]Use as a computer for programming on
[*:25858f4734]Play games at high spec, top graphics, etc without a lot of lag.

I know this is quite a big list, and i am looking at doing with maybe a maximum of £2000, maybe £300 if i get a student loan, so i do not know if this will be hard to do or not.

I have nothing planned for what i want as hardware, so i would like any ideas from you that will help me in making choices.

I will mention now that even though i am looking at doing a computing degree i am not extremely good on the hardware side, and do not know what most of the jargon means.

I thank you in advance for your help.

jonathanm

Distinguished
Jun 8, 2006
This is what im getting for my new computer:

£134 -- Motherboard -- ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe/WiFi Edition
£57.96 -- HD -- www.ballicom.com -- 250GB SATA2 Western Digital

£32.83 -- PSU -- www.eazi.it -- Zoostorm 500W ATX2

£195.81 -- CPU -- www.lowestonweb.com -- AMD Athlon 64 X2 4000+ AM2

£31.76 -- GPU -- www.eazi.it -- 256MB Inno3D 6200TurboCache

£11.69 -- RAM1 -- www.ballicom.com -- 256MB DDR2 533 RAM

£11.69 -- RAM2 -- www.ballicom.com -- 256MB DDR2 533 RAM