Sign in with
Your question

Factory overclocked cards VS personal overclocked cards

Last response: in Overclocking
June 10, 2006 3:06:12 PM

Many factory overclocked cards claim to be more stable. Is it true?
Are factory overclocked cards actually better than cards we overclock ourselves? If so, why?

I will gladly pay more for factory overclocked cards becuz i'm a complete noob in overclocking. ><
June 10, 2006 4:00:10 PM

The main difference is that with a factory OC card, you get at least some type of warranty as long as you don't overclock it MORE than the manufacturer did. Some warranties are quite long. When you overclock yourself, it voids the warranty. I don't know if you care about that sort of thing.

I do know that manufacturer supplied board CAN have problems. If you do have problems you can usually get a new board because of the warranty. Check out this link.

Overclocking a video card is pretty easy. There are a number of guides out there on the internet. Just search for one or check out this link. It doesn't require tinkering with your BIOS, which is required for CPU overclocks.

Manufacturers can make a number of changes to the board besides changing GPU and memory clock speeds. Many times, a different cooler is used than the reference design. Sometimes the only thing they change is GPU and memory clock speeds. If this is the case, you can reproduce their results by overclocking the reference board to the same level they did.
June 10, 2006 4:34:37 PM

Here are some things to consider:

1) ATI and nVidia both make graphics processors. ATI also makes some boards. The cards with boards made by ATI are branded as ATI cards. nVidia doesn't make their own boards; they just sell their GPUs to companies that make the boards. The cards are then branded with the name of the boards manufacturer.