Approximately How Many Minutes of Video on a 1GB SD Card

chooky78

Distinguished
Jun 4, 2006
I'd like to know approximately how many minutes of Video at 640x480 in a MPEG 4 format a 1 GB SD card can hold. Thanks

Hi g-paw

I'm no expert, but I think the actual amount you can fit on your card will depend on many things (besides the video resolution), including:

-Video Bitrate & Compression
-Audio Bitrate & Compression
-Actual MPEG4 Codec Version/Implementation
-Specific Program used to create the video
-Content of the Video (lots of moving images/detail, vs slow & bland images)

The most accurate way I suggest for you to work this out is to create a small amount of video (say, 1 or 2 minutes) of the type you plan to put on your SD card, see how big the resulting file is, then extrapolate from there to work out how many minutes 1 Gb will hold.

Some other people may have a rough idea of the amount you can fit, but this is my suggestion...

Hope this helps.

Mark

g-paw

Splendid
Jan 31, 2006
Thanks, found some stuff that says 15 to 30 minutes on a 1 Gb card, which is more than enough given we have a camcorder. Went to an art show last week and a friend of ours was playing and my wife took some video. Really suprised how good the video and sound was given she used the camera. Pretty much decided on a 1 Gb card to use when you just come accross something like this and don't have the camcorder with us.

madmouse67

Distinguished
May 26, 2006