digital_priest

Distinguished
Jun 12, 2006
I'm a total noob building my first system and thought that the Asus A8N5X would be one of the easier places to start. I don't need high power, not up to overclocking yet, just need to build something that works.

I've pretty carefully put the cpu (3200+ Venice) into the motherboard, inserted the ram (2GB over two sticks) and the video card (XFX 6800GT). I screwed in the HD and the CD and then wired it all together, including the power switch and LED, reset switch, speaker, and HD LED. I did skimp on the actual case: in trying to save a little money I used a simple/cheap steel case from the back of the school's closet.

When I switch on the power supply, the motherboard LED lights up green. And when I hit the power button on the front, all the fans start spinning and the CD spins. The hard drive does nothing. And that's it. Nothing else happens. No beeps, no video signal, nothing.

I cleared the CHMOS, but I don't know what else to do. Is there some noobish mistake? Bad motherboard?
Thanks.

Sithlord

Distinguished
May 25, 2006
Well, that is kinda of weird. Now how do you have the HD plugged into the power supply, is it an IDE drive or a SATA drive, cause SATA drives seem to have two power options, one is the normal molex connector, the other is a flatter power plug (the difference I dont know)

Also what is the power rating on the power supply and what else are you trying to power with it? (like DVD-ROM, how many system fans, Floppy drive, Video card etc..)

Are you also sure the HD is plugged into the IDE or SATA channel 1?

digital_priest

Distinguished
Jun 12, 2006
power supply is 450. All I have in it is the motherboard, video card, HD, and CD. The HD is in SATA 1 (though I tried all of them), but it only has the SATA flat power connector (and the power supply has them as well). Could it be the case speaker isn't working and I'm not hearing any beeps?

sailer

Splendid