Sign in with
Your question

Affordable laptop for student.

Last response: in Overclocking
June 15, 2006 11:58:17 PM

Well, here is the thing: I've been building home-built systems for the last ten years or so. In the fall, I'm back to becoming a student, and my college courses will all be online.

I need a laptop that will allow me to work on my studies, no matter where I go. I have a laptop right now, it's my girlfriend's Emachine laptop (I know, ugh). Surprise, surprise, it's failing, and at the end of it's life. I don't know where to start for a replacement (My realm is in homebuilt PCs, not laptops).

I'm unfamiliar with current mobile CPUs, preferred brands, or prices.

I need something that will let me do school work, but will be flexable to play games on, as every college kid on the go neads a break now and again.

Advice?
June 16, 2006 2:31:49 PM

Lot's of choices out there, just wait for a sale. You may get a good deal through the school, so check there first. All the CPU's will be strong enough. Just get at least 1GB of RAM, 2 would be better ($$). Both ATI and nvidia have mobile versions of some of their more powerful cards. Anything above a 6800 class GPU will let you game well, and after that it just depends on how much you're willing to spend, and the weight & battery spec's. Just accept that no laptop can match a desktop for performance, so you aren't disappointed.

This link is old but it's a start:
http://www.laptopadvisor.com/gaming-laptops.html

http://ezinearticles.com/?How-To-Choose-The-Best-Gaming...

...Google around, and make sure you read user reviews. Also, don't forget places like Staples, OfficeMax, etc. which can have some very good deals on occasion.
June 16, 2006 3:47:59 PM

Dell are doing decent laptops for $499.
If you want a basic Email/Internet/Office laptop then this one would be fine.

click me !

8)
Related resources
June 16, 2006 4:40:35 PM

How powerful do you need?