Dual Opterons or Single FX for Gaming System?

Fritz1970

Distinguished
Jun 16, 2006
I'm evaluating motherboards for a new system, one that I hope will last about 3 years. I've generally used DFI's AMD boards, but have recently discovered the world of dual-Opteron boards.

Would a dual-Opteron (multi-core) board with 2 PCIex16 slots set up for SLI work well as a gaming platform? My thought is to buy one Opteron, a GeForce 7950 and the board, run that until it's clear I need more GPU and/or CPU power, and then buy another 7950 or Opteron. Can the boards run with only 1 CPU? Will they work well as gaming platforms? I'm a very amateur 'enthusiast,' and don't have the time or skills to overclock or watercool my systems, so it seemed to me that this might be a viable upgrade path for a powerful system.

I'm aware that dual 7950's might not do much good other than allow me to run a 30" monitor at high res and that the Opteron boards require more expensive registered memory, but I'm willing to wait and see if some benefit emerges in a year or two. I'm also willing to spend a little more now so that I have an easy upgrade path for the next couple years.

Thanks in advance for any advice!

Fritz

slim142

Distinguished
Jan 29, 2006
I would not recommend you to waste more than $500 on Geforce 7950 right now because as you can see we are right next to year 2007 which will bring Vista with DirectX 10 and all this videocards you see in stores this year will drop their prices really really low.

Regards

Fritz1970

Distinguished
Jun 16, 2006