Is my Radeon 9800 Pro finally dead?

Bopper

Distinguished
Apr 18, 2006
I thought it was a hard drive problem first but everything works perfectly normally, except as soon as I try to run a 3d-application such as a game, I hear a sound from the computer and it freezes. After I have rebooted, an ATI error message comes up saying I do not have permission to open ATI Catalyst Center. I have been using the card heavily for 18 months (a few of those months in extreme heat when I was unaware of my heat problem), then the rest of the time in above recommended heat levels, until recently when I got a new case. Everything has been working fine, and games were still working last night, but I also got a few crashes. The problem has seemed to become worse and worse, with crashes becoming more frequent until now, when any game freezes when I try to start it up. I have tried deleting the drivers and installing several different versions of it, but it still crashes whenever I load a game. Do you think this is a hardware problem or can it also be something to do with my software (even though I have not changed anything recently)?

Whizzard9992

Distinguished
Jan 18, 2006
If you're getting a permission's error, then I doubt that your card died. You get that if you're not a local admin on the machine (i.e. It's a work computer, belongs to someone else, or you have a virus that tweaked your security settings).

What kind of sound are you hearing? From the case or the speakers?

Have you tried ALT+TAB, ALT+F4, CTRL+ALT+DEL or CTRL+SHIFT+SPACE to come out of the game?

Have you tried re-installing DirectX?

Bopper

Distinguished
Apr 18, 2006
It may also be a virus, since I got some weird messages about a corrupt file or something, and now my F-Secure anti-virus is telling me that the virus definitions are old even though I just checked them.

The sound comes from the computer before it crashes.

Bopper

Distinguished
Apr 18, 2006