Sign in with
Your question

Building budget computer (first timer)

Last response: in Systems
June 19, 2006 1:30:56 AM

Well. I'm building a budget computer, and this is my first time. I don't want it to be over 700 and I already have the monitor, mouse, keyboard, and speakers. So far I have this. It's about 680(ish) with some rebates. I don't want to go AM2 because it seems too expensive. Is there any way to make this cheaper without sacrificing performance? Are all these parts compatible?

CD/DVD Drive - Pioneer 16X DVD±R DVD Burner With 5X DVD-RAM Read Black ATAPI Model DVR-111D - OEM
Case/PSU - Antec LifeStyle SONATA II Piano Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case 450Watt SmartPower 2.0 ATX 12V V2.0 for AMD & Intel systems Power Supply - Retail
Hard Drive - SAMSUNG SpinPoint P Series HD160JJ 160GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
Motherboard - ASUS A8N5X Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail
Graphics Card - GIGABYTE GV-NX76T256D-RH Geforce 7600GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Silent Pipe II, Lead Free Video Card - Retail
CPU - AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Venice 2000MHz HT Socket 939 Processor Model ADA3500BPBOX - Retail
Memory/RAM - OCZ Platinum Series 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered System Memory Model OCZ4001024ELPE - Retail [/b]

Thanks for the help.
June 19, 2006 2:27:38 AM

As I tell every first system builder, buy an XBOX 360. You will be so much happier :D  you spent your money on something worthwhile. Don't be a victim and buy more pc components. You'll eventually see the light and remember my comment, "I TOLD YOU SO!".
June 19, 2006 2:30:54 AM

1st..if you wait till july 24th prices Might come down on 939 procs..and will definitely come down on AM2. Switching from the silent 7600gt would save soem dough..like an evga 7600gt which has been on rebate at newegg for $150 here
at the time of drop am2 solutions will probably be cheaper by the difference of the cpu since overall both platforms are even