googlebuddy

Distinguished
Jun 19, 2006
I have been reading toms hardware forumz for a while now and have come to value and respect the knowledge available here. Since I have never built my own computer before, I'm hoping some of you can help me with what parts I'll need to build a new computer.

I'm estimating my budget to be around $1500 but can go as high as $1750 if you feel there is a need. I will not need a monitor, keyboard, mouse, speakers, case or CD ROM drive but will need anything else you recommend. So let me describe what I'll be doing...

Since I recently purchased a new video camera, I would like the new machine to do video editing at a decent speed. I'm guessing I would need to have a large amount of storage as well.

Also, I'd like to play some of the newer games so a good graphics card would be useful.

I'd also like the computer to be upgradable in the future (I think I read quad core is coming out in 2007).

I'd really appreciate any help you can give me. I'm really a newbie to this whole process and I figured I would go right to the experts before even trying to come up with a parts list.

Thanks!

dandano

Distinguished
Jun 19, 2006
for (essentially) a completely new build, it would be better to wait until the new intel processors (conroe) come out in a few months. performance appears to be much higher with conroe than with anything currently available.

if you *have* to build it now, then i'd go with the amd am2 socket systems, since that will still be upgradable for some time, and the amd procs are a good value.

Money would be well spent on specifically:

A dual core processor (video editing will be much faster and smoother)
A Premium MB with the premiun chipset there is to offer
And a a top notch video card, ATI 1900, Nvidia 7800 to 7900 GT type card.