Here's an interesting topic, I believe: Whence Intel's share

RafterManFMJ

Distinguished
Apr 11, 2006
...price.

As of right now, intel (INTC) is trading at $18.17, near its 52 week low of $16.75. Now, should conroe turn out to be:

Faster than...
Cheaper than...
Less power hungry than...

AMD's chips, logically they will gain market share, and sell more chips. Seems logical to assume their stock price will appriciate as well. Your thoughts on this? Curious as I've been accumulating Intel for about 2 months now on the idea that they will come out of their 4-5 year stock slump on the strenghth of the conroe chip.

In the last 3 months, AMD has gone from just under $35 to $25.76 today.
While intel has gone from around $19.75 to $18.17 today...

That's a 3 month decline of 26% for AMD shareholders
and one of 8% for Intels (note i did not factor in Dividends, which Intel pays and AMD does not.)

Let me know what you think - Intel, good buy at ~18.00 share? I think so!

BaronMatrix

Splendid
Dec 14, 2005
...price.

As of right now, intel (INTC) is trading at $18.17, near its 52 week low of $16.75. Now, should conroe turn out to be:

Faster than...
Cheaper than...

AMD's chips, logically they will gain market share, and sell more chips. Seems logical to assume their stock price will appriciate as well. Your thoughts on this? Curious as I've been accumulating Intel for about 2 months now on the idea that they will come out of their 4-5 year stock slump on the strenghth of the conroe chip.

and one of 8% for Intels (note i did not factor in Dividends, which Intel pays and AMD does not.)

intel will not gain back marketshare. That's not how it works. they will keep the deals they have as will AMD.

Also AMD hit $40. Intel's Core 2 is causing this drop. Ananlysts know that Intel has ot rid itself of TONS of P4s and the price drop only means that CPUs will be undervalued for at least a year.

not cheap but undervalued.

Thx Intel. you should have dumped the NetBust years ago.